underwater cameras

Travel discussion for St. John
NCSue

underwater cameras

Post by NCSue »

Hey all...question time. We typically use a Canon point and shoot with an underwater housing. We're looking at buying a new one....anyone have suggestions Either for underwater cameras or the point and shoots with housing.

Thanks!
Dave C

Re: underwater cameras

Post by Dave C »

I have used a Canon D 10 point and shoot for the past 4 years with great results. It is Water, Shock and Freeze proof. Canons newest version is the D 30, they are about $350. That being said, there are many similar comparable cameras from different manufacturers on he market.
equineannie

Post by equineannie »

Go pro is an excellent choice. As a dive instructor I see a ton of them with customers.
FlaGeorge

Post by FlaGeorge »

Check out the Olympus Stylus TOUGH TG-3 Digital Camera. I was in the same boat - wanted a point & Shoot, but wanted something that was waterproof. This camera is great and take great pictures and movies. Waterproof to 50 feet. It is a tough little camera with a large screen. I'm glad we got it.

FlaGeorge
FlaGeorge

"Swim Against The Current - Even a Dead Fish Can Go With The Flow"
jsauls1

Post by jsauls1 »

Garmin will be coming out with a new version of the Virb in June 2015 , it is the XE model and you can dive to 50m without a waterproof case. It's suppose to rival the GoPro4 , the only difference is it does not film in 4K.
steveo2916

Post by steveo2916 »

I had good luck with the Fujifilm XP70. Very compact, waterproof to 50'. Got it at Costco in a bundle with SD card, soft case and float strap for 150.
Jeff&Cindy

Post by Jeff&Cindy »

I can offer up one that you should avoid! I purchased the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS25D from Amazon and quickly returned it. The seal failed miserably. I'll be shopping again soon too.
thompson27502

Post by thompson27502 »