Stargazing in St. John

Travel discussion for St. John
tiffjobi

Stargazing in St. John

Post by tiffjobi »

Hi everyone! I'm new here and found you while planning my 2nd trip to St. John which starts in just FOUR days! So excited. Anyway, I am an amateur stargazer and wondered if there are any activities or events on St. John for this. I contacted a lady who used to do this, but she has sadly moved to Vermont. She recommended Cinnamon Bay, but I couldn't find anything from them on stargazing.

We will be there during a new moon (exciting!) and I wondered if I should bring regular binoculars, astronomy binoculars, or a travel telescope. I will be bringing my sky map for that latitude.

We are staying in Town at Ylang Ylang. I'm hoping viewing will be good there but am also willing to go elsewhere for some special viewing.

Thank you so much!

Tiffany
ski2play

Re: Stargazing in St. John

Post by ski2play »

The National Park Service used to have a really good stargazing program they put on several times a year. We went in 2011 and really enjoyed, bring your bug spray. I just checked there website and it appears they do not offer it any longer. Sad indeed.

When we travel to the Virgin Islands, I bring regular binoculars (because they can be used for other purposes too) and a star map for the area.

Have fun and enjoy!

*When life knocks you down, roll over and look at the stars! :lol:
tiffjobi

Post by tiffjobi »

Perfect, thank you so much. I am sad about the programs. Maybe I should get serious about this stargazing and learn enough so that when I can spend more time there, I can offer services. ;)

Tiff
liamsaunt

Post by liamsaunt »

Do you have the starwalk app? I find it very useful for stargazing while on St. John. I am an extremely amateur stargazer and love that I can ID what I am looking at with this app.

Many villas have binoculars that you can use, so you might want to inquire with whoever you are renting from before packing yours.