Looking for help facing end stage cancer

A place for members to talk about things outside of Virgin Islands travel.
lprof

Looking for help facing end stage cancer

Post by lprof »

A friend is hoping for some suggestions from your personal or medical experience in facing the end stages of brain cancer, specifically Grade 3 Aniplastic Astrocytoma.
The patient is 34 with two girls in their early teens. She has had multiple rounds of chemo, radiation, and surgery and is losing some ability as well as becoming very depressed.
How can family and friends help her and her immediate family? What may be expected to be happening over the next weeks and hopefully months?

I am willing to pass on any advice or comments via messages. Thanks for any help.
Last edited by lprof on Wed May 21, 2014 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
... no longer a stranger to paradise
Sunflower

Re: Looking for help facing end stage cancer

Post by Sunflower »

Dear Iprof - I am not a medical professional, but would first like to offer my sympathy to you and your friend. How sad for such a young person to face this diagnosis.

Has she gotten a second opinion? I worked at Duke University Medical Center for 27 years, and can tell you that the Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center there is absolutely unparralled in treatment of brain cancer - specifically, Dr. Henry Friedman and his team. If at all possible, I would suggest she try and see Dr. Friedman. http://www.cancer.duke.edu/btc

Another suggestion from my personal experience is to engage Hospice Care as soon as possible. I lost my twin sister just over a year ago to metastatic lung cancer. Once she decided to stop treatment, hospice was absolutely wonderful. I was her caregiver for 7 months, and hospice was there for us every day - nurse visits daily, medications delivered to the door, daily help with her personal hygiene, and tremendous support in every way.

I hope my suggestions may offer some support...
lprof

Post by lprof »