quitting smoking cigarettes...

A place for members to talk about things outside of Virgin Islands travel.
mahojim

quitting smoking cigarettes...

Post by mahojim »

I've done it before @ 10 years ago, but was sucked backed into it...
I'm 44 and 2/3rds years old. I've been smoking for @ 20 years total, and have got to quit. Anyone have any success stories/ remedies?
I enjoy it, but it doesn't enjoy me. Heck, I'm not getting any younger, and I need help. Used "The Patch System" years ago which kept me off them for around @ 2-3 years, but circumstances led me back to those damned ciggies...
Don't want to try Chantix because of the warnings of suicidal thoughts,and what-not, and that patch gave me the weirdest dreams and anxiety.
Hardest part might be that I'm a career bartender, working nights, and those cancer sticks are seemingly a great punctuation after most things, be they challenging or profitable- they keep me company.
Just have to be done with it.
Any advice is appreciated.
It just plain stinks in every way.
Thanks, and always-
Smiles-
MJ
nikkiki

Re: quitting smoking cigarettes...

Post by nikkiki »

My sister has been using a vaporizer with great results. She hasn't bought any cigarettes since she started, and the liquid supposedly allows you to step down the nicotine levels. She likes that she can still "smoke" with her friends, and she can keep an eye on her intake via the amount of liquid in the vaporizer. I have a friend that uses one as well and he swears it's helping him quit.

I also have a friend who is using an app on his phone - it shows him how long he's been without cigarettes, how much money he has saved, and how much tar and individual cigarettes he's passed on. It also has a section for the benefits, showing him how his body is recovering day by day. Seems like a good motivator!

Can't speak for it personally, but they seems like they are success stories in the making! Good luck!
PaminMaine

Post by PaminMaine »