MY Christmas screw up............WHAT was yours?????

A place for members to talk about things outside of Virgin Islands travel.
Jan&MikeVa

MY Christmas screw up............WHAT was yours?????

Post by Jan&MikeVa »

I cannot believe what I did. I am an expert cook, I LIVE to bake and entertain. It's my passion, I'm really very good at it (one of the few things I can brag about). :P

So here's the deal. I put powdered sugar in my turkey drippings instead of flower (no wonder it wouldn't get thick). :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: They were both in identical tupperware, I had been busy baking cookies, etc., etc. HORRIBLE! :evil:

We had a sit down dinner for 20 on Sunday (I did ALL the cooking). Christmas dinner was sit down for 12 (again I did ALL the cooking). Day after again, sit down for 12 at breakfast. But I ruined the Christmas gravy.............wah wah wah. I WILL NEVER LIVE THIS DOWN, my family is brutal (in a funny, loving way).

But just to save face with myself, here is what did turn out great (please let me brag just a bit) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sunday, my husband's family of 20:
Appetizers of fresh cheese, salami, fruit, cheeseball, bread, and crackers
Dinner of marinated, grilled salmon
Layered (non mayonaise) coleslaw
Mango/Pinneaple salsa
Tropical rice
FRESH homemade rolls
Store bought birthday cake for his Uncle
Kiss of the Jumbie coffee
NO alcohol for his family (don't ask) :wink:

Christmas Dinner for my family:
Same type of appetizers
Dinner of 2 turkeys, mashed potatoes, candied yams, green beans almondine, FRESH rolls, homemade stuffing, cranberry sauces of many types, fruit salad, fresh veggies, relish tray, and SWEET gravy. UGH; homemade pies of: pumpkin, pecan, and chocolate fudge, fresh whipped cream, and plenty of Kiss of the Jumbie coffee. EVERYONE BROUGHT DESERTS.