What is beyond the gas station?

Travel discussion for St. John
mindehankins

What is beyond the gas station?

Post by mindehankins »

I know that sounds like a funny question, but since the emphasis will probably NOT be on snorkeling this trip, and I've never been further than the gas station on that road, I'm wondering. This is my first time driving on island, and I'm nervous about that, but trying to be optimistic. I'm pretty sure I can handle the switchbacks on Centerline and North Shore Roads - is the driving past the gas station any worse than those? I've heard lots of talk of Jacob's Ladder and wonder if it's worse than the other driving (assuming dry roads)? I'm thinking of exploring some....
PaminMaine

Re: What is beyond the gas station?

Post by PaminMaine »

Nah.. I drove my 2 daughters all over the island 2 years ago! Just mash the pedal to the floor and go.. :D
luvinsun

Post by luvinsun »

Fish Bay is past the gas station... the Westin is beyond the gas station too. It's all good... However, I'm not sure that i would recommend pressing on the gas on the switchbacks... I think it was on our 2nd trip, one of the locals gave us some great advice... do not gun it on the switchbacks, just take them like you are driving normally, then you won't peel out and scare the crap out of yourselves.... Jacob's ladder is a little touchy after it's rained, just make sure that you aren't tailing anyone and you'll be fine... :)

We stay on Fish Bay every trip, and it's so quiet and peaceful over there... Love it!

good luck!
Tami
Image[/url]
John LMBZ06

Post by John LMBZ06 »